New Jersey Legal Arms
New Jersey has a variety of restrictions on rifles, pistols, and firearms that are compliant or legal to purchase and possess. If you live in New Jersey, this page will help you choose rifles, pistols, and firearms from Dark Storm Industries. Individuals must be fingerprinted when applying for a firearms acquisition card or licence. In recent weeks, there has been a question about the meaning of the term “substantially identical” in New Jersey`s assault weapons law. Parliament has addressed this issue in the provisions of the Criminal Code and, despite the clarity of the law, it is appropriate for the Attorney General to provide direction to prosecutors to ensure that the law is applied consistently and effectively throughout the state. N.J.S.A. 52:17B-98. I direct prosecutors, as law enforcement officials in their respective districts, to share these guidelines with local police departments, which in turn should provide copies of this memorandum to any member of the public requesting information about assault weapons. Yes, a memo from the New Jersey State Attorney General`s Office dated October 20, 2017 reviewed the findings of a Supreme Court decision, and a consent order signed by the State of New Jersey states that stun guns are legal for sale and possession in New Jersey with only two restrictions. You must be at least 18 years of age to purchase or possess and you must not be a specific person prohibited from purchasing or owning one under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-7(a). The Constitution of New Jersey contains no provision expressly guaranteeing the right of citizens to own and bear arms. Only handguns need to be registered for you if they were purchased in a state as a resident.
Rifles and shotguns do not need to be registered. If you sold this handgun to another New Jersey resident, the newly filed pistol purchase license updates the states` firearms database. However, if you sold this firearm to a firearms dealer or out-of-state to a licensed firearms dealer, it will remain registered in your name. This database is for criminal justice purposes only and a copy of your firearms may not be provided to you. New Jersey banned the manufacture and sale of homemade firearms/homemade firearms in 2018 and the transfer and possession in 2019 as well as 3D printing weapons, including possession or sharing of computer code that can be used to program the printing of such weapons.   The law is being challenged in court.  The New Jersey Act states that the firearms purchaser`s identification permit and/or handgun purchase permit must be issued within 30 days. However, this is not always respected, as some applicants wait months to obtain their permit. Applicants may appeal the refusal of a permit. Firearms buyer identification is also required to purchase handgun ammunition from state dealers.
“Handgun ammunition” is interpreted as any calibre that can be used in a handgun, so some calibres typically used in rifles and shotguns require a FPIC for purchase. In New Jersey, anyone who wants to purchase firearms (but not possess or use them in freed locations) must purchase a lifetime piece of identification for the purchaser of firearms, commonly known as FPICs, to purchase rifles and shotguns. To purchase a handgun, a separate licence from your municipal police chief or state police superintendent is required if the municipality does not have a local police station. Any handgun to be purchased requires a licence that expires after 90 days, but can be extended for an additional 90 days at the discretion of the Chief of Police or Superintendent of State Police. These, like the first Firearms Buyer Identification Card (FPIC), are provided to applicants on the basis of a pitcher. They require an in-depth interview with the application, multiple references, and background checks by the State Identification Office and the New Jersey State Police. However, authorities have no discretion and must grant permits to applicants who meet the criteria outlined in the laws. The grounds for refusal are conviction for a criminal offence (equivalent to a crime) or an administrative offence (equivalent to a misdemeanour) in the case of domestic violence. Since August 2013, anyone on the terrorism watch list has also been disqualified.
Only one handgun can be purchased on each permit, but there is “no limit to the number of antique rifles, shotguns and barrels that can be purchased or acquired, provided the recipient has a valid firearms acquisition license,” according to state regulations, firearms classified as “assault weapons” but acquired and registered with the state before May 1, 1990. are legal to possess. Police officers may possess assault weapons for official purposes and, on the recommendation of their organization, possess personal assault weapons. FFLs are also allowed to possess “assault weapons”. New Jersey law lists firearms that are prohibited “assault weapons.” N.J.S.A. 2C:39-1w. (1) In addition, the Act provides that the expression “assault firearm” includes: “Any firearm manufactured under a designation substantially identical to any of the firearms listed in the Act”. N.J.S.A. 2C:39-1w. (2). Thus, a firearm is an assault weapon if it is on the list of prohibited firearms or if it is manufactured under a different designation than a listed firearm, but is “substantially identical” to a particular listed firearm. You will then receive an application package that must be completed in full and forwarded to the Firearms Investigation Unit.
You must apply to your local police station. If you don`t have a local police department, you`ll need to apply to the New Jersey State Police Department that covers your community. Out-of-state residents can only apply for a firearms acquisition card from the New Jersey State Police Department (excluding toll roads, stations on the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway, and Atlantic City Expressway). The Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in Association of New Jersey Rifle and Pistol Clubs v. The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey has determined that this provision applies only to the carriage of a firearm in a vehicle and that the carriage of a firearm in a container locked in checked baggage in an air terminal for reporting to the airline constitutes illegal possession and is not protected by law. This decision is a direct result of a 2005 incident in which Gregg C. Revell, a Utah resident with a valid concealed firearm license from Utah, drove through Newark Airport en route to Allentown, Pennsylvania. Due to a missed flight, he received his luggage, including a properly registered firearm, and had to spend the night in a New Jersey hotel. When he returned to the airport the next day to check his handgun for the final leg of the trip, he was arrested for illegal possession of a firearm. Revell lost his case after the U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit lost its case in Gregg C. Revell v. The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey  stated that “Section 926A does not apply to Revell because his firearm and ammunition were readily accessible to him during his stay in New Jersey.” This notice applies to New Jersey airports. If a traveller misses a flight or for any other reason, their flight is interrupted and the airline attempts to return their baggage containing a registered firearm, the traveller will not be able to take possession of the firearm if they take a subsequent flight. The Association of New Jersey Rifle and Pistol Clubs (ANJRPC) then sued the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, which led to a similar ruling. Hollow-point ammunition is fully available at most retailers wherever firearms are sold and can be transported by buyers without a special permit.